Waiting by the Sea by Nardoo



Waiting by the Sea OM401 (1999)

A collection of original Australian melodies. Melodies for two instruments: recorder and fretless guitar/tarhu.

The pieces are short, ranging from two to five minutes, and employ various combinations of treble recorder and voice flute, fretless guitar, fretless banjo and tarhu. A variety of styles may be detected: the music tends generally towards the folk tradition in flavour, but a distinctively international folk flavour at that. Several tracks owe much to Indian music, while lament (no.3) is more reminiscent of the spaghetti Western styles. Jo Jo (no.8) recalls the British Isles' folk tradition, which is inevitably one of the influences on Australian music, and has interesting divisions in the guitar accompaniment.

The recorder sound is effortlessly liquid and sonorous throughout. While the recorder line is predominately melodic and easy to listen to, extended techniques are present, and there is occasional vocalisations too.

Waiting by the Sea is very attractive. It is inviting to dip into, and very atmospheric for more extended listening: it presents the recorder in a n accessible style which will commend it to those who have but a passing acquaintance with it and invite them to know it better.

Alyson Lewin, The English Recorder, 2001

1. Waiting by the Sea (May) 5:05

2. Grape Vine 4:26

3. Lament 3:54

4. Golden Strokes 4:12

5. Valley of the Kings 4:00

6. PK Lane 4:16

7. Pilgrim 2:27

8. Jo Jo 2:58

9. Midnight Clover 3:19

10. Juliet's Robin 1:57

11. Escapade 1:57

12. Oscar's Pudding 2:40

13. One Fine Day 4:32

14. Waiting by the Sea (July) 3:57

15. First Light 4:35


$ 15.00 tax incl.

Orpheus Music Publications

Contemporary recorder and string music

Orpheus Music publishes contemporary recorder music featuring such composers as Diana Blom, Nigel Butterley, Zana Clarke, Justo Diaz, Lance Eccles, Ross Edwards, Malcolm Tattersall and Benjamin Thorn.

We represent over 70 composers, including many young composers, with more than 260 works that provide a wide range of styles and genres for one to ten recorder players. We also have a useful Recorder Composing Guide and Glossary of Unusual Recorder Techniques for those interested in writing for the recorder.

Orpheus Music Publications are also available from our distributors in Germany, UK, and USA.

Orpheus Music

String Series

Orpheus Music String Series has now been launched. Put OMSS into the search box to view this series. For more information.

Welcome, Login



No products

Shipping $ 0.00
Total $ 0.00

Cart Check out  

Like us on Facebook