by Lance Eccles


Score 10 pp. Parts 3 pp.

Contemporary Piece. Three evocative movements. First movement makes interesting use of cross rhythms; second is calm and static while the third is a lively jaunt in 12/8.

1. Infra-Red
2. Sunlight
3. Ultra-Violet

OMP010 Lance Eccles Spectrum

The three movements of Lance Eccles' Spectrum for recorder quintet SATTB are" "Infra-red", "Sunlight" and "Ultra-violet".  Their structures are audaciously simple, but the realisation of each piece is highly effective.  "Infra-red" is an AABA form, the B being just a transposition of the A, a tone higher, with short connecting passages between.  But the effect of the piece, with its reliance on strings of supertriplets over a tramping bass is electric.  "Sunlight", marked Andante places a bright descant tune over a glowing, flowing, all-crotchet accompaniment that becomes livelier at each of the two repetitions of the tune which itself gets shorter each time.

"Ultra-violet" is in a moderately fast 12/8, with an attractive bluesy melody over a stomping bass, with many pleasing changes of texture.  The whole piece is very well written for recorders, light-hearted and a pleasure to play.

Paul Clark, The Recorder Magazine, Summer 1999


$ 19.80 tax incl.

  • Catalogue Type Recorder
  • Edition Modern
  • Instrumentation Descant, Treble, 2 Tenors, Bass
  • Setting Quintets
  • Grade 2-6
  • Composer Dates Contemporary

Orpheus Music Publications

Contemporary recorder and string music

Orpheus Music publishes contemporary recorder music featuring such composers as Diana Blom, Nigel Butterley, Zana Clarke, Justo Diaz, Lance Eccles, Ross Edwards, Malcolm Tattersall and Benjamin Thorn.

We represent over 70 composers, including many young composers, with more than 260 works that provide a wide range of styles and genres for one to ten recorder players. We also have a useful Recorder Composing Guide and Glossary of Unusual Recorder Techniques for those interested in writing for the recorder.

Orpheus Music Publications are also available from our distributors in Germany, UK, and USA.

Orpheus Music

String Series

Orpheus Music String Series has now been launched. Put OMSS into the search box to view this series. For more information.

Welcome, Login



No products

Shipping $ 0.00
Total $ 0.00

Cart Check out  

Like us on Facebook