New product

Soren Sieg

Composer: Sieg - Soren

Instrumentation: Descant/Tenor and Piano

Period/Genre: Contemporary


More details

$58.95 tax incl.

Add to wishlist

You must be logged

More info

The composer Soren Sieg says: 'In my previous works for recorder and piano, I paid little attention to the difficulty of the pieces, because at the premieres I played the piano myself and the recorder part was performed by virtuosos such as Meng-Heng Chen, Chris Orton, Ebba-Maria Kunning or Antonio Carriho. In this collection it is exactly the opposite, I have gone through my now more than 32 African suites in search of pieces that are close to my heart and which I could arrange for solo recorder and piano in such a way that the recorder and piano part would be rather easy to play. I hope that these pieces can be played in recorder lessons by teachers and students at a fairly early stage. 

The pieces can be played on soprano or tenor recorder, the piano accompaniment for the soprano recorder version is in the score, the piano accompaniment for the tenor recorder version i in the enclosed piano part. 

I wish everyone a lot of fun with this collection, the next one is already in preparation'. Hamburg, March 2020. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Background: Soren Sieg (*1966) learned to play the recorder, violin and piano as a child and later also the saxophone, trumpet, guitar and drums. He studied at the University of Music and Theatre Hamburg from 1991 to 1996. He was commissioned to write compositions for the Hanke Brothers, Seldom Sene, the Amsterdam Loeki Stardust Quartet, the Flanders Recorder Quartet, the Boreas Quartet, the Music Festival neukollner originaltone, the Ensemble Flutes en bloc, the Ensemble Drelklang Berlin, I Flautisti, the Utrecht recorder festival, the Flute Ensemble Flotissimo, The Recorder Orchestras Berlin, Braunschweig, Hamburg and Birsfelden, the piano quartet Tastissimo and Ensemble Pipelife. Two of his African compositions have been published by Moeck - pina ya phala and mavumo ya uana. He lives as a composer in Hamburg.

October 2022.


Karungi is made up of a collection of 10 pieces.

1. Karungi (Beautiful)

2. Kinyongo (Nostalgia)

3. Kuagana (Farewell)

4. The Salutation to Djaboue

5. The Valley of Djaboue

6. Valse triste

7. Siku siyo mbali (The day is not far)

8. Sula inyembezi (Wipe your Tears)

9. Invitation

10. Starry Sky

Score: 36 pages. 2 parts - Piano @ 22 pages. Recorder @ 12 pages. 

6 other products in the same category: