Reduced price!


Spasmodic - A Duet for Four Recorders View larger

Spasmodic - A Duet for Four Recorders


Orpheus Music


Composer: Ashley - Karyn

Instrumentation: Descant - Treble

Period/genre: Australian Contemporary

Grade: Difficult

More details

$12.80 tax incl.

$16.00 tax incl.

Add to wishlist

You must be logged

More info

Lively piece for two players each playing descant and trebles recorders simultaneously.

1. Spasmodic

Please note that due to the automated delivery of virtual products including pdf downloads, PayPal payment is required at the checkout - we are unable to accept the cheque payment method for these items.

_2 x Score 2 pp Downloadable PDF file - 170 Kb._

  • Reviews
  • YCS009 Karyn Ashley Spasmodic

    Another excellent publication from Orpheus, this "duet for four recorders" expands the repertoire in which the player/s must play two recorders at once - in this case, both players playing descant and treble to produce a quartet.  Although this obviously limits the note range available, in this piece the three movements are thematically contrasted - although a predilection for 5/8 and 7/8 time signatures is evident in both 1st and 3rd movements.

    Musically effective, this piece is technically not too demanding - once you have mastered playing two recorders at once, this work is very accessible.  However there are one or two tricky areas, most noticeably in the 2nd movement which requires some E flats from the 2nd player (treble).  If you are to play in tune, then some alternative fingerings are very much required here.

    All in all, a very enjoyable piece: well set out as one has come to expect from Orpheus, with two scores provided.  Let's hope that the 17-year-old Karyn Ashley continues to provide us with equally competent repertoire

    Jean McCreeny, The Recorder Magazine, Winter 2001

    30 other products in the same category: