Two Handel arias


New product

Peacock Press

Composer: Handel - George Frideric

Arranger: Sue Handscombe

Instrumentation: Descant Solo - Descant - Treble - Tenor - Bass

Period/Genre: Baroque

Grade: Moderate

More details

$18.95 tax incl.

Add to wishlist

You must be logged

More info

Two Handel arias for Descant solo and SATB quartet. Handel wrote his fourth Oratario 'Joshua' in 1747. It tells the story of the Israelites crossing the river Joradan to Canaan and the battle of Jericho. Interwoven is a love story between caleb's daughter Achshah and a young soldier named Othniel. 

'O had I Jubal's lyre' from the last act, is a great expression of rejoicing with much florid writing sung by Achshah and here played by the solo soprano recorder accompanied by SATB recorders. 

'Jeptha' written in 1751 and based on Chapter 11 of Judge, involves Jeptha leading the Israelites to victory against the Ammonites. He makes a vow with the Almighty that if he is victorious he will sacrifice the first living thing he comes across afterwards. He is, however, horrified to find it is his own daughter, Iphis. In deep anguish he feels he must honour his vow and pleads that she will be received into heaven, hence this aria 'Waft her, angels, through the skies'. A beautiful piece full of his torment and grief. 

As he is about to wield the knife an angel appears and saves her but states that she must dedicate her life to God and remain a virgin. Her fiancee Hamor is glad she is saved but mourns the fact that she can now never be his wife. 

Composer George Frideric  Handel; 23 February 1685 – 14 April 1759) was a German-British Baroque composer. He is consistently recognized as one of the greatest composers of his age.

Score: 8 pages. 4 parts @ 2 pages ea. 

NB: Cover colour may vary.

30 other products in the same category: