Free shipping on all orders over $70 Australia wide


An Evening of Chaconnes


New product

$30.03 tax incl.

Buy Downloadable PDF Version Here

Estimate shipping cost


    *Contemporary Piece.* A nicely varied set of 10 Chaconnes with just enough quirks to keep players and audiences interested and amused.

    _Score 22 pp. Parts 10 pp._

    Period/Genre Contemporary
    Composer First Name Lance
    Composer Surname Eccles
    Grade Moderate
    Instrumentation Descant, Treble, Tenor + Bass Recorders

    OMP106 Lance Eccles An Evening of Chaconnes

    Composed for the Sydney Society of Recorder Players this collection of ten chaconnes displays a good variety of characters in recorder-friendly keys well suited to an adult ensemble.  Typical features of the chaconne bass are here with the falling tetrachord (No. 4), a passamezzo moderno (No. 5) and the Bachian falling chromatic line of No. 10, all of which break out occasionally from their repetitiveness with a quaver flourish or a chromatic turn.  No interpretation is given which leaves plenty of scope for imaginative articulation.  These are straightforward player-friendly pieces, easy on the ear and the fingers with interest spread throughout the parts although a bass player with considerable patience will be an asset.

    Kathryn Bennetts, The Recorder Magazine, Winter 2001

Customers who bought this product also bought:

30 other products in the same category: