Reduced price! Tout de Sour View larger

Tout de Sour


$16.40 tax incl.


$20.50 tax incl.

Buy Hard Copy Version Here
Hard Copy

Add to wishlist

You must be logged

    *Contemporary Piece.* Three movements with intriguing astringent harmonies.

    1. With accerbity
    2. With less acerbity
    3. With more acerbity

    Please note that due to the automated delivery of virtual products including pdf downloads, PayPal payment is required at the checkout - we are unable to accept the cheque payment method for these items.

    _Score 8 pp. Parts 3 pp. Downloadable PDF file - 552 Kb._

    Publisher Orpheus Music ,All Publishers
    Period/Genre Australian Contemporary
    Composer First Name Elisabeth
    Composer Surname Middleton
    Grade Moderate
    Instrumentation Descant - Treble - Tenor - Bass
    Composer Letter M
    Composer Name Middleton - Elisabeth Elisabeth Middleton Tout de Sour

    Tout de Sour, by Australian composer and educator ElisabethMiddleton, is a companion piece to her work Tour de Sweet, also for recorder quartet (OMP 013).  Like Tour de Sweet, this work is in three brief movements, each with expression markings relating to sourness - "With acerbity", "With less acerbity", and "With more acerbity".  Throughout the piece, "biting" sonorities and dissonances are used to good effect.  There are no expression or phrasing marks except for dynamics.  It is moderately easy, and the ensemble texture is almost entirely homophonic.  It would be an excellent choice for a group wanting to "expand their harmonic palate" slightly without trying anything too difficult.  Score and parts are easy to read. There are no page turns except between movements.

    Carson P. Cooman, The American Recorder, September 2001

    1. With accerbity 

    2. With less acerbity 

    3. With more acerbity

30 other products in the same category: