Spasmodic - A Duet for Four Recorders

by Karyn Ashley


2 x Score 2 pp.

Lively piece for two players each playing descant and trebles recorders simultaneously.

1. Spasmodic



YCS009 Karyn Ashley Spasmodic

Another excellent publication from Orpheus, this "duet for four recorders" expands the repertoire in which the player/s must play two recorders at once - in this case, both players playing descant and treble to produce a quartet.  Although this obviously limits the note range available, in this piece the three movements are thematically contrasted - although a predilection for 5/8 and 7/8 time signatures is evident in both 1st and 3rd movements.

Musically effective, this piece is technically not too demanding - once you have mastered playing two recorders at once, this work is very accessible.  However there are one or two tricky areas, most noticeably in the 2nd movement which requires some E flats from the 2nd player (treble).  If you are to play in tune, then some alternative fingerings are very much required here.

All in all, a very enjoyable piece: well set out as one has come to expect from Orpheus, with two scores provided.  Let's hope that the 17-year-old Karyn Ashley continues to provide us with equally competent repertoire

Jean McCreeny, The Recorder Magazine, Winter 2001


$ 13.20 tax incl.

  • Catalogue Type Recorder
  • Instrumentation Descant & Treble Recorders
  • Setting Duets
  • Grade 7
  • Composer Dates Contemporary
  • Edition Modern

Orpheus Music Publications

Contemporary recorder and string music

Orpheus Music publishes contemporary recorder music featuring such composers as Diana Blom, Nigel Butterley, Zana Clarke, Justo Diaz, Lance Eccles, Ross Edwards, Malcolm Tattersall and Benjamin Thorn.

We represent over 70 composers, including many young composers, with more than 260 works that provide a wide range of styles and genres for one to ten recorder players. We also have a useful Recorder Composing Guide and Glossary of Unusual Recorder Techniques for those interested in writing for the recorder.

Orpheus Music Publications are also available from our distributors in Germany, UK, and USA.

Orpheus Music

String Series

Orpheus Music String Series has now been launched. Put OMSS into the search box to view this series. For more information.

Welcome, Login



No products

Shipping $ 0.00
Total $ 0.00

Cart Check out  

Like us on Facebook