New Reduced price!


Through a glass darkly View larger

Through a glass darkly


Orpheus Music


Composer: Thorn - Benjamin

Instrumentation: 2 Trebles - Tenor - Bass

Period/Genre: Australian Contemporary

Grade: Moderate

More details

$17.60 tax incl.

$22.00 tax incl.

Add to wishlist

You must be logged

More info

Through a Glass Darkly for recorder quartet (2Tr, T, B) by Benjamin Thorn. Three attractive pieces reworking the same  musical material as a Plaint, March and Jig. 

Through a glass darkly is effectively three variations without a theme - or three ways of treating the same musical material as a Plaint, a March and a Jig.  While there are substantial similarities between principal themes and related harmonies, subject of course to them being reworked in different metres, each movement also has material unique to it. The effect is intended to be a sense of familiarity that cannot quite be identified. 
Each of the four parts (2 trebles, tenor and bass) features as the main melodic instrument at some time with a consequent sense of equal partnership between all players. It received its first performance at the Orpheus Music workshop in Armidale in January 2024.

Through a glass darkly is made up of 3 parts:

1. Plaint

2. March

3. Jig

Benjamin Thorn is a composer and recorder (and ocarina) player based in Armidale, NSW, Australia. he has written music for a wide range of instrumental and vocal forces but has gained international acclaim for his music for recorders. His music has been published in Europe, Canada and the USA as well as in Australia. He lectures in creative arts education at the University of New England and is the music editor of Orpheus Music. 

Score: 12 pages. 4 parts @ 3 pages ea. 

30 other products in the same category: