3 Sonatas


New product


Composer: Williams - William

Arranger: Gwilym Beechey

Instrumentation: 2 Treble & Basso continuo

Period/Genre: Baroque

Grade: Moderate

More details

$45.95 tax incl.

Add to wishlist

You must be logged

More info

Very little is known about the life and career of William Williams, and such information as survives is concentrated in the short period between years 1695 and 1701. In his younger days he may have known Henry Purcell, and it is clear that he was familiar with some of the music of that great master. William's date of birth is not known and he may not have been a Londoner: his name suggests that he may well have com from Wales. He was employed at court in London in the late 1690s and died in 1701. 

Among his few surviving works is a set of six trio sonatas which were published in parts in 1700. The only known copies of these parts are now in the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge (Mu.MS 524-527) to whom they were presented in 1915by the Master and Fellows of Magdalene College. 

*Three Baroque Sonatas.* Includes extensive introductory notes in German and English.

*Sonata in C Major*
1. Allegro
2. Vivace
3. Grave
4. Allegro

*Sonata in a minor*
1. Adagio
2. Vivace
3. Allegro

*Sonata in F Major*
1. Adagio
2. Allegro
3. Grave
4. Allegro non troppo

Score: 27 pages. 3 parts @ 9 pages ea. 

30 other products in the same category: