Reduced price!


Three Recercadas Set 2 View larger

Three Recercadas Set 2


Orpheus Music


Composer: Ortiz - Diego

Arranger: Benjamin Thorn

Instrumentation: Descant - Treble - Tenor - Bass - Greatbass

Period/genre: Australian Contemporary

Grade: Difficult

More details

$17.60 tax incl.

$22.00 tax incl.

Add to wishlist

You must be logged

More info

*Contemporary Pieces.* Three more of Ortiz' recercadas have been extended and arranged for quintet.

1. Con moto
2. Recercada Settima
3. Recercada Quinta

Please note that due to the automated delivery of virtual products including pdf downloads, PayPal payment is required at the checkout - we are unable to accept the cheque payment method for these items.

_Score 12 pp. Parts 3 pp. Downloadable PDF file - 978 Kb._

  • Reviews
  • OMP056 Diego Ortiz/Benjamin Thorn Three Recercadas

    Diego Ortiz published his treatise on the art of divisions in 1533.  These Recercadas, or instrumental pieces for improvisation or embellishment, include settings on the Passamezzo Antico, the Passamezzo Moderno, and the then-popular "La Gamba" galliard melody: set 1 consists of one each.  All have been beautifully set, or rather realised, for recorder quintet by Benjamin Thorn, with some interest in all parts; though the upper three have most to do.  The soprano player must be prepared for several top Cs, and the great bass player for lots of bottom ones.  Computer set score and parts are a little congested and/or unequally spaced in places, but the print is clear and reasonably-sized.

    Mary T Mitchell-Gogay, The Recorder Magazine, Winter 2001

    1 other product in the same category: