by Elizabeth Law


Part 2 pp.

Evoking a crab on the beach. A strong rhythmic piece.

1. Crustaceans



YCS004 Elizabeth Law Crustaceans

Elizabeth Law's Crustaceans came as a very pleasant surprise.  Another Mendelssohn?  Perhaps not, but at least music which has wit and flair.  This is for unaccompanied treble, has no time signature and presents some technical challenges; as well as being able to tackle some quite tricky note patterns, the player of 'Crustaceans' has to stamp a foot, produce some largely unnotated twittering and make random finger sounds.  The use of a novel scale pattern of irregular intervals starting from a low G (though it never appears as a scale as such) gives the music a distinct flavour.  Beginning with just a couple of notes, the composer builds a sequence of fragments, gradually introducing more notes and getting higher in pitch as the speed increases - rising to a top C.  The title refers to crabs scurrying across a beach but the music has its own logic.  I can imagine audiences really enjoying this little piece and, once they've got round the notes, recorder players too.

Andrew Challinger, The Recorder Magazine, Summer 1999


$ 13.20 tax incl.

  • Catalogue Type Recorder
  • Instrumentation Treble
  • Setting Solo
  • Grade 6

Orpheus Music Publications

Contemporary recorder and string music

Orpheus Music publishes contemporary recorder music featuring such composers as Diana Blom, Nigel Butterley, Zana Clarke, Justo Diaz, Lance Eccles, Ross Edwards, Malcolm Tattersall and Benjamin Thorn.

We represent over 70 composers, including many young composers, with more than 260 works that provide a wide range of styles and genres for one to ten recorder players. We also have a useful Recorder Composing Guide and Glossary of Unusual Recorder Techniques for those interested in writing for the recorder.

Orpheus Music Publications are also available from our distributors in Germany, UK, and USA.

Orpheus Music

String Series

Orpheus Music String Series has now been launched. Put OMSS into the search box to view this series. For more information.

Welcome, Login



No products

Shipping $ 0.00
Total $ 0.00

Cart Check out  

Like us on Facebook