Reduced price!


Hot Silk View larger

Hot Silk


Orpheus Music


Composer: Thorn - Benjamin

Instrumentation: Treble + Harpsichord

Period/genre: Australian Contemporary

Grade: Difficult - Very Difficult

More details

$14.00 tax incl.

$17.50 tax incl.

Add to wishlist

You must be logged

More info

*Contemporary Piece.* Three lively rhythmic pieces with engaging melodies.

1. Presto
2. Gently
3. Vigorously

Please note that due to the automated delivery of virtual products including pdf downloads, PayPal payment is required at the checkout - we are unable to accept the cheque payment method for these items.

_Score 11 pp. Part 4 pp. Downloadable PDF file - 404 Kb._

  • Reviews
  • OMP081 Benjamin Thorn Hot Silk

    Benjamin Thorn possesses an extremely unique personality. Whether he is employing a language based on the I, IV and V chords in the key of C or one of pure noise, his personality is always identifiable.  It is very much evident in Hot Silk, a light-hearted three-movement work for alto recorder and harpsichord.

    The first, marked "Presto" is in 7/8 time and has a strong feeling of dynamism.  Movement two, marked "Gently," is in a moderate 5/8 and is one of Thorn's most lyrical statements.  The third movement, marked "Vigorously," is in 6/8 and features hemiola rhythms.  In of three, Thorn vacillates between tonality and modulates in unexpected ways. The edition is excellent.  This is a very good piece, suited to the advanced amateur.

    Pete Rose, American Recorder, March 2004

    30 other products in the same category: