Reduced price!


Sonatina View larger



Orpheus Music


Composer: Uren - Andrew

Instrumentation: Descant + Piano or Guitar

Period/genre: Contemporary

Grade: Moderate - Difficult

More details

$16.40 tax incl.

$20.50 tax incl.

Add to wishlist

You must be logged

More info

*Contemporary Australian Piece.* Lovely impressionistic work with accompaniment in versions for both guitar and piano.

1. Moderato
2. Tranquilllo
3. Humoresque

Please note that due to the automated delivery of virtual products including pdf downloads, PayPal payment is required at the checkout - we are unable to accept the cheque payment method for these items.


_Score 10 pp. Parts 3-7 pp. Downloadable PDF file - 630 Kb._

  • Reviews
  • OMP124 Andrew Uren, Sonatina (1983/86)

    Andrew Uren (1955-1989) was an Australian composer and guitarist who has focused largely on works involving his own instrument. Because of his very young passing, much of Uren's music is still being published and edited.

    Orpheus's edition of Uren's Sonatina is edited by Malcolm Tattersall from the composer's original manuscripts. The guitar part was fingered by the composer.

    Sonatina is a work that would be equally effective with either guitar or piano, and two idiomatic accompaniments are thus provided in this edition. This flexibility makes the work very attractive for a variety of teaching or recital purposes, since the recorder part remains identical.

    The work is indebted to the musical language of the early 20th century French impressionists and also the post-impressionist music of Francis Poulenc. The three very short movements (Moderato, Tranquillo and Humoresque) each have a contrasting character, but share similar musical material. This is a distinctive and appealing work of moderate technical difficulty, and is strongly recommended.

    Carson Cooman, American Recorder, September 2005

    30 other products in the same category: