Other Recorder Ensemble Music

Reduced price! Ragged Robin View larger

Ragged Robin


$22.40 tax incl.


$28.00 tax incl.

Buy Hard Copy Version Here
Hard Copy

Add to wishlist

You must be logged

    *Contemporary Piece.* Lively, funky trio with an atmospheric middle movement. MD

    Please note that due to the automated delivery of virtual products including pdf downloads, PayPal payment is required at the checkout - we are unable to accept the cheque payment method for these items.

    _Score 13 pp. Parts 7 pp. Downloadable PDF file - 667 Kb._

    Publisher Orpheus Music ,All Publishers
    Period/Genre Australian Contemporary
    Composer First Name Benjamin
    Composer Surname Thorn
    Grade Moderate - Difficult
    Instrumentation Treble - Guitar + Double Bass
    Composer Letter T
    Composer Name Thorn - Benjamin

    OMP133 Benjamin Thorn, Ragged Robin

    Talented Australian composer Benjamin Thorn is becoming well known for a distinctive body of creative music for the recorder. Within a generally conservative harmonic world, Thorn produces a variety of colours and effects that always serve attractive m usical purposes.

    Ragged Robin is in three movements for recorder, guitar, and pizzicato (plucked) double bass. The opening movement, for all three instruments, draws on both rock and Baroque styles in an energetic mood. The second movement is atmospheric; the recorder explores simple multiphonics, and the guitar provides more dissonant, colourful chords to support it. The double bass player plays only a rainstick during that movement. The third movement returns to the energetic world of the first movement, taking the exact same musical material and recasting it in triple meter.

    Of upper moderate difficulty, it is a suitable recital offering and would add a creative twist to a program if a guitar and double bass were available. Orpheus's score and parts are clear and easy to use. Page turns are easily done. In the less conventional second movement, all play from score for ease of reading.

    Carson Cooman, American Recorder, September 2005

30 other products in the same category: