Three Salutes and A Whirl


New product


Composer: Turner - John

Instrumentation: Descant + Piano

Period/Genre: 20th Century

Grade: Moderate

More details

$26.25 tax incl.

Add to wishlist

You must be logged

More info

Three Salutes and A Whirl is a contemporary suite written with four movements for Descant Recorder and Piano. 

1. Flourish
2. Chorale
3. Hopscotch
4. A Whirl

John Turner was born in Stockport in 1943, and is one of the leading recorder players of today, He was Senior Scholar in Law at Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge and as a practising solicitor acted for many leading musicians and musical organisations. He has premiered over 500 works for his instrument, including concertos written for him. His own recorder compositions, notably Four Diversions and Six Bagatelles (both in the Forsyth catalogue) are standard repertoire and examination pieces for the instrument worldwide. He was made a fellow of the Royal Northern College of Music in 2002 for his services to British music and is a Distinguished Visiting Scholar of Manchester University.

Three Salutes was written for the seventieth birthday of the composer Nicholas Marshall.  

A Whirl received its first performance at wakefield Cathedral on 15th February 1992 by the composer and Jonathan Bielby in celebration of the marriage of Jonathan Bielby and Jayne Hall. 

_Score 19 pp. Part 9 pp._

30 other products in the same category: