For Several Friends Vol 1 Suites 1-2


New product


Composer: Locke - Matthew

Arranger: Franz Muller - Busch

Instrumentation: Descant or Tenor + Continuo

Period/Genre: Baroque

Grade: Moderate - Difficult

More details

$38.33 tax incl.

Add to wishlist

You must be logged

More info

*Two Baroque Suites.* Includes Epilogue in German and English.

*Suite No. 1, g-Moll/G-Dur

1. Fantazie
2. Pavan
3. Ayre
4. Courante
5. Saraband
6. Jigg
7. Ayre
8. Courante
9. Saraband

*Suite No. 2, B-Dur

10. Fantazie
11. Pavan
12. Ayre
13. Courante
14. Saraband
15. Jigg

Matthew Locke was born in 1621 or 1622 most likely in Devon and died in 1677 in London. He was amongst the most important and distinctive musical personalities of the English Baroque era. 

During the Commonwealth Locke frequented aristocratic and middle-class circles. In 1660, the year of the restoration, Locke was appointed court composer by Charles II and was made responsible for a variety of tasks. He kept this post until his death. His successor was Henry Purcell. 

Score 14 pages. 2 parts @ 10 pages ea. 

30 other products in the same category: